Monday, May 17, 2010

2010 Terence L Jones Diversity Award Winners

The Terence L Jones Diversity Award was established in the mid-1990s in memory of RAPP VII member Terence L. Jones, who passed away in 1991.

It's presented to the outstanding RAPP members who have contributed to the success of their group over the academic year. Members are selected for this award based on their commitment to the program, their genuine contribution to the RAPP process, and their continued encouragement of their peers' development.

This year we asked the members of RAPP to help select the award winner by nominating/voting for each other at the last meeting of winter quarter. We facilitators listened to the group - and agreed with their selection.
Marjorie Bledsoe was awarded for her efforts in the Tuesday group.
Meagan Lauer was awarded for her efforts in the Wednesday group.
Also receiving recognition this year through the awards process are:
  • Katie Meyer of RAPP XXIV Sunday was selected as a C-Ring finalist. This presitigious award is for the top graduating woman at UC who is strong both academically and in working to improve the lives of women and girls.
  • Nancy Paraskevopoulos was awarded a Just Community Award. Recipients of this award are selected based on their demonstration of commitment to supporting the priniciples and spirit of Just Community through their activities and participation at the University. Nancy is the only student receiving the award this year -- all other selected honorees are faculty and staff.
  • Lane Hart was awarded the Omicron Delta Kappa Sophomore Leader of the Year award. This award honors students who have excelled in collegiate leadership as well as have exemplary academic achievements.

Congratulations to all these amazing RAPPers!

No comments:

Post a Comment